Edward James Olmos Award

A centerpiece of the conference is the presentation of the Edward James Olmos Award for Advocacy in Amputation Prevention.

The award is named in honor of the celebrated actor and director Edward James Olmos, who has been active in raising awareness of the ravages of diabetes and the importance of limb preservation in the Latino community. Every male member of Olmos’s family, including his father and all of his uncles, has either died or lost limbs as a result of diabetes. He has made it a personal mission to educate his community, which has one of the highest rates of diabetes and limb amputation.

Recipients of the Edward James Olmos Award for Advocacy in Amputation Prevention

2003 -Karel Bakker, MD Heemstede, The Netherlands
2005 -Andrew J. M. Boulton, MD Manchester, UK
2006 -Gary W. Gibbons, MD Boston, MA
2007 -Christopher E. Attinger, MD Washington, DC
2008 -Benjamin A. Lipsky, MD Seattle, WA and Oxford, UK
2009 -Peter R. Cavanagh PhD, DSc Seattle, WA
2010 -Warren S. Joseph, DPM Philadelphia, PA
2011 -Joseph L. Mills, MD Tucson, AZ and Houston TX
2012 -Jan Apelqvist, MD Lund, Sweden
2013 -Lawrence B. Harkless, DPM Pomona, CA
2014 -Michael Edmonds, MD London, UK
2015 -Nicolaas C. Schaper, MD Maastricht, Netherlands
2017 -George Andros, MD Van Nuys, CA
2018 -Lawrence A. Lavery, DPM
2019 -John Steven Steinberg, DPM
2020 -Stephanie Wu, DPM
2021 -Frances Game, Prof. Dr., UK
2022 -Kristien Van Acker, PhD
2023 -Giacomo Clerici, MD, Milan, Italy